There is a big confusion about Kosher Gelatin which is now used very extensively in yogurts, sour Cream, Cottage cheese and Ice Cream.
There are four type of kosher gelatin in the food products but none of them meet the Islamic dietary requirements and considered NOT Halal.
Different kosher certifying organizations have different beliefs.
For example kosher organization with symbols
· OU, CRC, V, Kof K do not consider pork gelatin as a kosher gelatin.
· K, KO accept pork gelatin as a kosher product.
So the statements such as “Gelatin is considered Kosher regardless of its source of origin”, which appears in many Halal foods books is not true.
- Gelatin in Jell-o Gelatin products is made from pork and considered kosher by a Rabbi who certify these products with a kosher symbol K. These products are Haram (NOT HALAL).
- Kosher gelatin is also obtained from non kosher slaughtered cattle bones and skin in China, which is certified by a Rabbi in Florida. This gelatin is used in majority of Dannon Yogurts( Dannon’s Premium Low Fat Plain, Premium Non Fat Plain and Natural Plain with UD kosher symbol do not contain any gelatin and considered as Halal products) and other brand of yogurts.
- Kosher gelatin is also made from pork source and listed as kosher gelatin in some products with kosher symbol KO. These products are Haram (NOT HALAL).
- The Union of Orthodex Jewish Congregation of America certifies a Kosher gelatin, which is made from cattle. These cattle are slaughtered according Jewish laws by a Sochet (A Rabbi). This kosher gelatin is used in Entenmann’s Frosted Toaster Pastries with kosher symbol UD. Many Islamic Scholars do not accept kosher meat as the meat of Ahle-Kitab because Sochet (Rabbi) do not announce the name of Allah and other prayers on each animals.
Only fish gelatin and gelatin made from the bones and skins of Halal animals slaughtered according to Islamic Sharia is considered Halal.
- Kosher Symbols: Allah says in Quran
“This day are (all) things are good and pure made lawful unto you. The Food of the people of the books is lawful to you and yours is lawful unto them” (Sura 5, Ayat 5).
If an authentic and genuine non meat kosher certified food products bearing kosher symbols such as OU, K. CRC, V, Kuf K, KVH, COR and Parve meet the Islamic dietary requirements, then those products are considered Halal.
However if they contain gelatin, kosher gelatin, wine, alcohol, L-cysteine from human hair, wine vinegar, rum flavor, beer batter then they are considered to be NOT Halal food products.
For example if a food product contains gelatin or Kosher gelatin and also bears kosher symbol, then it will not be considered Halal.
We do not recommend Kosher meat for Muslims because they do not announce Allah’s name on each animal. Majority of Muslims do not consider it Halal. Besides, the Zabiha meat is accessible to Muslims in USA and Canada.
PLEASE DONOT USE THE KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS IF THEY CONTAIN THE FOLLOWING INGREDIENTS:
1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list (9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer?s yeast, a by product of beer making (12) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (13) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (14) Vanilla Extract (15) Wine Vinegar (16) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (17) Confectionary Glaze made with alcohol.
i. Gelatin (Jell -o Gelatin products)
ii. Kosher Gelatin (from cow not slaughtered according Jewish slaughtering methods such as kosher gelatin in Dannon yogurts)
iii. Kosher Gelatin (from cows slaughtered according to Jewish method of slaughtered in which they pronounce name of Allah on the first cow and last cow, no pronouncement of Allah’s name between first and last cows such as kosher gelatin in Entenmann’s Frosted Toaster Pastries)
iv. Wine (Grey Poupon Mustard)
vi. Alcohol in Flavor ( Some Islamic scholars accept it as Halal and some do not, please consult your Islamic scholar)
vii. L-Cysteine from human Hair
Cochineal (Insect red color, all insect except gross hopper are Haram according to Hanafi fiqha)
viii. Naturally Brewed Soya Sauce (Soya sauce made with wheat and soy is Haram because the production of alcohol in its production and retention of 1-2% alcohol in soya sauce, Soya sauce made with water, Salt, Hydrolyzed vegetable Protein, Corn Syrup and Sodium Benzoate is Halal, it is also called All purpose Soya sauce)
ix. Brewer’s Yeast Extract ( some Islamic scholars accept it as Halal and some considered it mushbooh because it is by-product of beer making, please consult with your Islamic scholar)
x. Beta Carotene (made with gelatin, if fish gelatin or vegetable oil is used then it is Halal)
About this entry
You’re currently reading “KOSHER GELATIN,” an entry on MUSLIM CONSUMER
- اغسطس 21, 2008 / 10:00 م
- FOOD INGREDIENTS