ALCOHOL AND FERMENTED FOOD PRODUCTS:

Alcohol is widely used as a carrier in many food flavors. Alcohol in food flavors will mostly evaporate if it is used as a solvent in food flavors for baked products or heat treated products. Some Islamic scholars do not consider a food product Halal even if it is made with all Halal ingredients but food flavor in which ethyl alcohol was used as a solvent. But other Islamic scholars recommend food products made with all Halal ingredients even if food flavors containing ethyl alcohol as a solvent.

You have to contact your Islamic scholars about their advise.

Muslim Consumer Group will not assign Halal status to food products which are even made with all ingredients but where ethyl alcohol was used in food flavors as a solvent.

MAJOR TYPE OF FERMENTED MILK PRODUCTS:

Type

Nature Of Fermentation

Kefir

Acid and Alcohol

Koumiss

Acid and Alcohol

Yogurt

Medium Acid

Cultured Buttermilk

Low Acid

Cultured Cream

Low Acid

Leben & Dahi

Medium Acid

Cheese

Acid, Diacetyle, Propionic Acid & CO2

Pickles from cucumber and sauerkraut from cabbage are made by salting (brining). No alcohol is produced during the processing of these products. However, when flavors are added, those flavors may or may not contain alcohol as a carrier.

NON ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES:

Most of non alcoholic beverages are made from alcoholic beverages where alcohol is separated by use of cones or other method but they contain leftover alcohol, the flavor and color of the alcoholic beverages. A wine or alcoholic beverage consists of 6-12% alcohol, water, flavors obtained through fermentation process, colors. Every single component of wine or alcoholic beverages are Haram, so if they present in a non alcoholic beverages then the non alcoholic beverages became Haram too.


About this entry