How can the ingredients be identified as Halal in a food product?
There are three ways of identifying Halal ingredients:
- The word ” Vegetable” is mentioned before or in parenthesis for fat based ingredients statement of a food product; for example vegetable Mono and Diglyceride.
- If a Halal symbol such as “H” in triangle or kosher symbol such as U, UD, V, CRC, KMH, COR, K or KD appear on the package (without wine, alcohol, all types of gelatin, L-Cysteine from human hair), it means that the fat based ingredient is obtained from vegetable fat.
- Inquiry with the food manufacturer is another way of identifying them. The purpose is to verify that the ingredients are Halal or kosher certified and also to inquire about any haram processing aid ingredients which are not mentioned in the ingredients list. Some times manufacturer uses Halal or kosher certified ingredients without finished product being Halal or kosher certified, breads and buns are the best example. Some manufacturer have Halal or kosher certified products but prefer not to have Halal or kosher symbol on their products.
About this entry
You’re currently reading “How can the ingredients be identified as Halal in a food product?,” an entry on MUSLIM CONSUMER
- أغسطس 21, 2008 / 9:13 م
- FOOD INGREDIENTS